Let’s talk meal planning…

Hello and Happy Saturday!

We’re having a pretty easy going weekend at home on the property. We made more progress on our projects outside,  heavy lifting was the majority of it which means I’ll sleep well tonight!

This morning though, I was planning our meals for the week and thought I’d give some insight into how I do it. When I used to work retail hours, I really struggled with meal planning. One day I’d be closing, the next opening, there was no rhyme or reason or pattern to my schedule, but since I’ve been working 7:30-3:30 Monday-Friday, planning has been much easier. The only wrench that got thrown in recently was my class schedule this semester. I typically take online classes when I can, but Chemistry just can’t be practiced online.

I do my meal planning on the weekend but typically think about what I might want to cook the whole week before. If Hubby mentions we haven’t had pizza in a while, I’ll jot that down on my iPhone to-do list for when I put together the meals. Then Saturday or Sunday morning, I’ll sit down and go through the week’s plans as well as my recipes and Pinterest.

Monday nights are gym nights, so I know we’ll be home late, crockpot meals I can throw together and leave alone until we get home are my go-to. On days that I have night class, I know I either can’t cook dinner at home or it will have to be something that requires next to no work.

Here’s this week’s plan:

Monday-Crockpot Sesame Honey Chicken with Rice and Steamed Veggies

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2013/02/crock-pot-sesame-honey-chicken.html

Tuesday-This is a Chemistry Lab day so I won’t be home until 10pm. Dinner will be snacked on in between lecture and lab. Hubby will be on his own, most likely eating leftovers.

Wednesday-Hot dogs for him, chicken sausage for me. Both in whole wheat buns we had leftover from last week, served with sweet potato and regular french fries and a side salad.

Thursday– Baked Flautas with refried beans, salsa and a side salad.

http://www.healthy-delicious.com/2012/03/baked-chicken-and-spinach-flautas/

Friday-Iowa Girl Eats’s Crockpot Bourbon Chicken Sammies with two kinds of fries again and a side salad.

Saturday and Sunday-reserved for leftovers and potential eating out.

Overall, weeknight meals when we both work full time are not extraordinary. But the point is that we’re eating a home cooked healthier meal as often as possible, saving money and enjoying each other’s company at home. This also makes grocery shopping a breeze. And once you get into the rhythm of it, you’ll have your go-to easy meals, family favorites, etc. My favorite part about cooking dinner most nights is there’s a good chance there will be leftovers to take to work the next day.

So I’ve got to know, are you already planning meals weekly? What are your tricks and tips if you are? And if you aren’t, what’s stopping you? What could help make it easier for you to cook more at home?

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

