Eagles, Cars and Super Bowl Guacamole

Happy Monday! Hope the beginning of the week is treating you well. I wanted to get this post up earlier in the week but life got a little hectic between school and a concert on a tuesday night that left me playing catch up.

Tuesday night we went to an Eagles concert with Patrick’s parents and aunt and uncle. It had always been on my bucket list to see them live and I kind of thought it wouldn’t happen being that they’re all in their seventies. The concert did not dissappoint though! The band was very strict on no cellphones or recording during the concert which was refreshing. Ushers were patrolling and asking people to put their cellphones away. It was also nice to go to a concert where real lighters were used for the slow songs and not cell phones, tell me the last time you saw that? Being out late tuesday night meant an exhausting wednesday at work and scrambling to make up schoolwork for my thursday chemistry class and lab but I got through it!

That brings us to the weekend. My trusty Jetta had served me well for several years. I got it as a christmas gift from my parents when I was sixteen, but it had just tipped over the 100,000 mile mark and was starting to have some problems. We knew we wanted to see what it was worth and decide if selling it now was worth while. We ended up going and getting it appraised while we shopped for new cars and took a few for test drives. After all of our research, we decided to trade in Wolfgang on Sunday morning. It was a sad moment saying goodbye to member of the family but I had to keep telling myself it was a smart financial decision. I’ll post later about the car we end up getting to replace Wolfgang.

The last picture with my 2007 Jetta, Wolfgang.

The last picture with my 2007 Jetta, Wolfgang.

After saying goodbye on Sunday, it was Super Bowl time! We didn’t have party plans or anything (still had homework and laundry to do since car shopping sucked up so much time). We headed home and I cooked up some of How Sweet Eats’ Cheddar Beer Chicken to put on nachos. But the best part of the nachos I wanted to share is the guacamole recipe! It’s a really simple one from Blendtec’s website and comes together in a couple minutes.

3   tbsp

fresh lime juice
1   halved

small shallot
1   clove

garlic
1⁄2   tsp

kosher salt
3

ripe avocados, peeled and pitted
1⁄3   c

fresh cilantro leaves

Add lime juice, shallot, garlic, and salt to FourSide jar in order listed and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 2–3 times. Add avocados and cilantro to jar, secure lid, and press “Pulse” 8–10 times.

– See more at: http://www.blendtec.com/recipes/basic_guacamole#sthash.i9fkwZ6I.dpuf

I love to make up a batch and put it on everything through the week’s meals!

Have any of you become attached to a car you’ve had for many years?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

