End of the month meal planning

Happy Sunday everyone!

Today I wanted to write about something that hopefully affects more people than just me. I do our meal planning and grocery shopping on a monthly cycle. We have a self-imposed budget we try to stay under. It’s a guideline more than anything but it’s a challenge to me to stay under budget.

Well today starts the last week of this month and after doing a Costco trip for meat and other essentials, I’ve pretty much used up what I allotted myself. Now this doesn’t mean we don’t eat this week, it just means I want to try extra hard to cook meals with ingredients we have on hand. So here’s how meal planning went down for this week.

Monday- Ham Salads-Leftover ham from Patrick’s birthday dinner will be put to use for Ham Salads. (It’s a smorgasbord in a bowl) 

Tuesday- Turkey Chili with Cheddar Bay Biscuits-Rain should be coming in on Tuesday and since I’ll be in class until at least 9pm, Patrick can make the Chili. I baked the biscuits today so those will be reheated on Tuesday. 

Wednesday- Healthy Sesame Chicken with brown rice and frozen veggies

Thursday- Spicy Honey Chicken Thighs over greens with Fries 

Friday- Ground Turkey Tacos- (old standby with homemade taco seasoning)

Saturday and Sunday- Leftovers or eating out. Hoping for a date night to see Captain America and/or Divergent 🙂

So all in all, I was able to use mostly what we had on hand (Frozen chicken/turkey, rice, frozen veggies and fries, etc.) I’ll just have to supplement with some produce and refill tortillas. 

Here’s how those new to me biscuits turned out, not pretty but garlicky and delicious!Image

Supposed to be just like those Red Lobster ones everyone loves so much! Patrick gave them 5 stars!

Here’s the link to the recipe: http://www.neighborfoodblog.com/2014/03/copy-cat-red-lobster-cheddar-bay-biscuits.html

What are your go-to meals to make with what you have on hand?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of the month meal planning

  1. I’m so glad you liked the Cheddar Bay Biscuits. I can always use some inspiration for meals that won’t break the budget. Thanks for sharing the link!

Leave a Reply

