Chia Seed Plum Jam

Today we got back from our annual camping trip. It was good to get away, do some fishing and get unplugged. We came home to a basket of ripe plums from my neighbor who watched Barry for us.
20140622-201312-72792712.jpg
They smell so good! But what to do with all of them? Jam sounded like a great way to enjoy them for a long time. But I didn’t have pectin or any canning supplies. I had seen chia seeds used as pectin in some recipes for fridge/freezer jam so I figured I’d give it a try. I chopped up 6 ripe plums and blended them up in my blendtec and added 3 tablespoons chia seeds and just a tablespoon of raw local honey for a little sweetness. Then I let the mixture chill so the chia seeds can do their thing for at least an hour. Overnight is even better. You can totally customize the sweetness and fruits .

20140622-201912-73152876.jpg
Hope you all find good ways to use up your summer bounties of fruit! I’ll be topping my morning yogurt with this jam, muesli and peanut butter!
Now it’s back to work and fencing!

20140622-202623-73583078.jpg
How about my gang of helpers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

