Slow-cooker Recipes

Hi there! We’ve been having a laid back weekend at home. It’s been pretty warm here still, 80 in the daytime, but cool at night. So we had some friends and family over for a fire last night to burn some piles of wood. There was chili, cornbread, cider and s’mores!

IMG_0280.JPG
And although the it’s not too cold here yet, many of you have requested I post about my slow-cooker recipes I like to use. While I don’t make my own recipes too often, I’m happy to share our favorites of others that we use on the regular. There’s nothing more satisfying than coming home to dinner already cooked. Working folks or not, we all can appreciate a meal that cooks itself!

Crockpot Bourbon Chicken Sammies by Iowa Girl Eats
These are upscale pulled chicken sandwiches, the sauce is great!

Our day-to-day pulled chicken I make simply by throwing frozen chicken breasts and/or thighs in the crockpot, nearly covering with chicken broth (I use better than bouillon) and cooking on low for 6-8 hours. I then drain and shred the chicken with barbecue sauce and put on toasted whole grain buns. Best served with onion rings too! The Alexia brand is our favorite.

Crockpot Italian Turkey Meatballs by Skinny Taste
We had these last weekend over spaghetti. I love how simple the ingredients are, you might have most of them on hand right now.

Crockpot Cheddar Beer Chicken Tacos by How Sweet Eats.
Oh how I love How Sweet Eats! This recipe is a standby in our house. I’m making the chicken tomorrow to serve on nachos. It really doesn’t matter what you put it on, you could eat it out of the slow cooker with a fork!

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken
This was a Pinterest find from a while back. The ingredient list doesn’t sound special but we really love what happens to the flavors when it cooks all day. I’m also partial to chicken thighs in the crockpot. Serve with rice and steamed veggies. Green onions are a nice touch!

Slow Cooker Hungarian Goulash by A Farmgirl’s Dabbles
I tried this when I was looking for an authentic Goulash recipe. It delivered! I soaked it up with rustic bread.

Slow-Cooker Chiptole Beef Tacos from Martha Stewart
I only ever make the beef portion of this, we’re not big on slaw at our house. But the beef is sooo good! This is another one you can top on anything Mexican or eat out of the crockpot.

Whole Chicken in the Crockpot from 100 Days of Real Food
Another simple recipe with wholesome ingredients. The meat falls of the bone, I’m not kidding, but it’s delicious and great for using chicken in other dishes afterwards. There’s also a recipe to make stock in the slow cooker with the chicken bones and remnants.

Beef Stroganoff from Martha Stewart
This one is so tasty! Serve over egg noodles with a veggie on the side.

Lastly,
Red Enchilada Sauce from Gimme Some Oven
While this isn’t entirely a slow cooker recipe, I treat it like it is. I take chicken breasts and throw them in the crockpot with broth to nearly cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours. When it’s time to cook dinner, I pull out chicken and shred and use broth to cook this sauce. Then I assemble the enchiladas by adding some sauce to the chicken, filling corn tortillas with the chicken, topping with sauce and cheese and baking until all is hot and melted.

I hope you guys can find a new recipe out of this round up to make it easier to enjoy a nutritious home cooked meal any day of the week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

