DIY Christmas Gifts

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving! We’ve been enjoying our long weekend at home. We spent Thanksgiving at Patrick’s grandmothers house family and plenty of good food. I didn’t touch my phone too much to snap any pictures but here’s me loving on my niece Haylie.
IMG_0295.JPGPhoto credit to my cousin Lindsey!

I brought bourbon vanilla cranberry sauce, cinnamon cider brussels sprouts and this spice cake from The Baker Chick.
IMG_0294.JPG
After Thanksgiving we couldn’t help but notice all the cars on the road out shopping already. We’re not one for crowds, it’s just not worth it to me to save a little bit of money so I chose to get my deals online. I went to bed with most of my Christmas shopping done. But truthfully, we don’t buy too many Christmas gifts so I didn’t have much to get.

Friday we were pretty lazy but Saturday and Sunday we got back into some chores and errands for the new month. In our errands we shopped for ingredients for our Christmas gifts for friends and family this year. I thought it would be fun to talk about what we do for our gifts and other DIY ideas.

When we planted our orchard of fruit and nut trees a few years back, we decided that one day when they were producing, we would make all of holiday gifts out of what we grew. We’re both foodies and happy to share the fruits of our labors with our loved ones. My favorite way to show people I love them is through cooking for them. This led to our “Christmas care package.” We do one up every year with different goodies and recipes. It’s like a little piece of us to send to everyone near and far to be with them in spirit. I liked the idea of sending goodies to be enjoyed during the holiday gatherings so candied nuts were a big thing we’ve done many variations of. Also, peanut brittle, fudge, and toffee popcorn. We enjoy coming up with new favorites every year. Then we take trips to Michael’s and Joann to find festive packaging. IMG_0061.JPGHere’s a glimpse of this year’s packaging. Treat bags, holiday tins in all kinds of sizing and mason jars are our favorites to use. We look out for holiday sales and coupons at craft stores to keep cost down.

But food isn’t the only thing you can DIY and give as Christmas gifts. I’ve seen so many ideas and variations out there. Do you or your loved one love body care products? Make a body or lip scrub in your kitchen. How about homemade lip balm? Are you a great sewer, knitter or crocheter? It’s that time of year for knitted scarves and beanies. I’d love to get fast enough to embroider holiday flour sack towels for everyone. Candles can be made at home too. Any drinkers? You can infuse alcohol or make your own beer or other beverage to bottle up. Home chefs would love homemade vanilla extract. It’s all so much easier than you would think to make. It just comes down to finding what you’re good at and enjoy to do. Now if you hate all of these things, and you’re a great shopper, then Black Friday shopping is for you. But if you’re like me and would prefer to stay home away from the hustle and bustle and nothing in stores sends quite the right message, then I challenge you to try making something this year. Even if it’s a plate of your favorite cookies to bring to a Christmas get together, it’s a great way to show your love this holiday season!

What are some of your favorite things to make for your friends and loved ones during the holidays, food or otherwise?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

