My Top 5 Reasons to Exercise

Hello everyone! 

Checking in here to talk about exercise, but first, a little weekend update.

This Saturday I got to go celebrate a good friend’s new addition to her family. Khrystyne and I worked together at Whole Foods and I’m so excited to meet her little one! 

phote credit to Khrystyne’s husband, Ezzat

 
 We all had fun catching up, eating, playing games and doing some crafts. I contributed the cake for the occasion. Strawberries and Cream! It was so nice to see everyone and celebrate such a happy occasion. 

The craft I had been working on for a little while but couldn’t post about was Khrystyne’s baby blanket. Here’s a shot of it before I packaged it up. I got the pattern from a friend who had made it many times in various colors for baby gifts.  She said it was one that everyone always loved and I can see why! 

  

We spent today doing errands and chores like usual. Gotta have a clean house, clean laundry and groceries to start the week of right!

Now to today’s health topic: exercise!

This time of year you’ve surely already been told it’s time to start getting in bikini shape. You wouldn’t want to be seen on the beach without toned abs, defined arms and firm butt, right? 

There was a time when I was younger when I fell for that motivation to exercise. I fell for the idea that the physical appearance of my body was the only reason to workout, the rest of the year I’d be covered up and there was no reason to get fit. But now I’m older and dare I say wiser, at the ripe age of 24. In the past few years I have learned why making fitness a part of one’s lifestyle is important. That’s all year round folks, not just from May-September. 

Not only is it easier to feel confident in your skin at the beach when you stay fit year round, but there is a large list of other positive things that keep me motivated to stay active and strong. Here are my top 5.

1.    Confidence

Making accomplishments and progress in your fitness can bring you lots of confidence. As you get better at something, whether it’s a difficult yoga pose or a new running PR, you’ll amaze yourself at how awesome you really are. I know whenever I complete a new BodyPump release or increase my weight for a certain muscle group, I feel on top of the world. It’s about proving to yourself that you can do this and that’s a great feeling.

2.    Sleep

Sleep, glorious sleep! I’m sure any of you can attest to this one. After a tough workout, you sleep like a baby. That means going to sleep easier and staying asleep longer. Quality of sleep is better after exercise. For me it works like this, the harder the workout, the better the sleep. After BodyPump I typically fall asleep right away and stay asleep all night compared to days where I don’t do much in the fitness department. 

3.    Stress 

This is my personal biggest motivator for exercise. I’m naturally a very anxious person so I’m always finding ways to use my nervous energy. My go-to is exercise. Crochet and bubble baths help too but nothing works as well as a good sweat session. Even aside from my nervous energy, if I’ve had a bad day at work, the gym is my instant cure.

4.    Energy 

I really think this goes hand in hand with the higher quality sleep you get from exercise as well as using up energy. It sounds weird but using up energy on one day and sleeping well because of it makes for an energetic start to the days following. You might even find that you need less coffee to get going in the mornings after implementing a regular workout routine.

5.    Happiness

Elle Woods said it best, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy.” While you may be cursing me when you’re struggling starting out on a run or barely hanging on through a new fitness class, once you make it through and catch your breath, you feel great! Lactic acid and all, there is a direct correlation between exercise and happiness and who doesn’t want to be happy?!

I hope this little snippet helps motivate any of you struggling to get on a regular workout routine to make it happen. You won’t regret it!

Until next time…


This entry was posted in Cooking+Baking, Craft Corner, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

