Why I Drink My Coffee With Heavy Cream

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all having a great weekend.

We went shooting yesterday morning. 

 
Then we went to our local nursery to identify a shrub we have growing on our fence line. It turns out it’s Dodonoae Viscosa, the green leafed variety. Who knew?

 
We also got information about ordering our bare root fruit and nut trees for planting this winter. I’m so excited! We’re going to plant Granny Smith apples, pink lady apples, honey crisp apples, almonds, pistachios and pluots again. And then we’re going to add persimmons to the mix and a lemon tree we got as a gift from our realtor when we moved. I’m toying around with the idea of peach and apricot trees too, we’ll see how the layout works out and what we have room for.

Saturday night we got pizza at our favorite spot in town.

On the way home I had the boxes in my lap at a slight angle and Patrick’s generously topped meat lover’s pizza leaked grease all over my jeans. It was pretty hilarious. I will be putting the pizza on the floor in the future!

Now for the subject of this post:

Why I Drink My Coffee With Heavy Cream (and nothing else)

In my journey with food, one of the biggest hurdles I had to tackle that was also the most rewarding was my addiction to sugar. I drank most everything sweetened either naturally or artificially. This was causing my blood sugar to be perpetually high and then low, my appetite to be insatiable, and my weight to be stuck higher than I would have liked. I was also having ibs episodes regularly from both diet and stress. In my journey to a healthier diet, I learned just how harmful sugar was and I started to gradually reduce the added sugar in areas of my diet that were the easiest first. This meant watering down sweet lemonade, ordering coffee or tea with less sweetener than I would have normally until my taste buds adapted to the less sweet things I was drinking. 

Specifically, the biggest change for me was in my coffee. I drank coffee every day, usually full of a flavored sweetener, stevia, Splenda, etc. But now that I was reducing that sweetener, I had a new enjoyment for coffee. I could taste the finer flavors and started to drink for taste and not for that sugar and caffeine rush. I still was using milk, usually soy in my coffee and still found myself hungrier than I’d like after a cup of coffee with my breakfast. I then started to incorporate more fats into my diet. Organic heavy whipping cream was what I turned to after educating myself on the positive effects of fats. Yes, I’m talking about what you’d use to make whipped cream at home, not half and half. Heavy whipping cream is rich, it doesn’t take more than a half inch to an inch to make your coffee complete. Here are some major reasons to switch to heavy cream.

  

Reasons to put organic heavy whipping cream in your coffee 

  1. It’s fat which means it’s full of vitamins
  2. It’s fat, which means it is broken down slower than sugar and milk. This means you’ll be full longer. Say goodbye to the blood sugar roller coaster and eventually some weight too.
  3. It compliments the flavor or coffee, instead of masking it. For anyone trying to reduce sugar consumption, making the switch can help your taste buds along.
  4. A little goes a long way, a 1/2 inch is usually all I need in 16 oz. of coffee.
  5. It keeps well in the fridge. I buy a small carton each weekend that lasts me through the week and then some if I need it for mashed potatoes or baking.
  6. It’s cheaper than a latte at Starbucks to get drip coffee with heavy cream, or better yet, make it at home.

I hope this inspires any of you to give heavy cream a try. It really was a life changer for me. 

I hope you all have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

